Under construction

An architect has a vision for a building, painstakingly creating the blueprint for its construction. It is the architect’s imagination that births the reality–drawing becomes concrete and steel, glass and plaster. The architect knows precisely what the building should look like, because it is the architect’s creation.

Lucky for the architect, the building doesn’t have a mind of its own.

My Architect must roll His eyes and shake His head every single day. “No, Cindy,” He gently scolds. “You’re not made to be that way. Trust Me…you are My creation and I know what’s best for you.”

Colossians 3 makes it clear that I have everything in me to be exactly who and what the Architect created me to be. “Put them all aside: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and abusive speech from your mouth. Do not lie to one another, since you laid aside the old self with its evil practices,and have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him…” (vv. 8-10).

It’s quite simple: God has a blueprint for me. I’m created in the image of God (Genesis 1:26), and I am “being renewed” according to that blueprint.  “Renew” in the Greek means “renovate”–a notoriously messy and laborious process in our world. How lovely it would be if God waved His hand over me and I were instantly renovated! Unfortunately, it’s more likely to resemble an earthly renovation: dust everywhere and the sense that it will never, ever be finished. I can’t seem to manage the whole anger, wrath, malice, slander, and abusive speech moratorium. Where does that ugly, toxic language come from? Sometimes I shock myself with verbal vitriol over the stupidest things. I desperately need renovation when I find myself snapping in anger at an inconsiderate driver or at myself when I do something I consider especially idiotic.

There’s something deeply wrong with the building that is me.

I long to be renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of my Architect. I look at the plans He has for me, a blueprint of holiness, courage, compassion, and justice. Yet this building totters too often in a strong wind…the shingles fall off from time to time, and the windows aren’t always plumb. It’s easy to succumb to sadness and shame for the way I show up in this neighborhood…on this world.

And then I remember King David. “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me” (Psalm 51:10). It’s those words: create and renew. In Hebrew, “create” means…to create. “Renew” means to rebuild or repair. And so I once again throw myself upon the mercy of my Architect. Rebuild me, Lord. Create me according to Your perfect blueprint. Let me continually and faithfully “put on the new self” and work hand in hand and heart to heart with my Architect…with my Father.

Let me be a building that truly reflects Your vision, Your wisdom, and Your truth. Create…renew…renovate…rebuild.

Dearest Architect, I am deeply grateful for your tender grace. I am under construction, and I am Yours.

Leave a Reply

