Ambushed by grace

I went to three different church services over the past three days, and I went in the spirit of my previous post: Lord, let me be dumbstruck by Your gifts, Your generosity, and Your sacrifice. My prayers were answered, as I came face to face with His goodness over and over again. My prayer today is that it doesn’t take the Easter holiday to bring me to this point of understanding, appreciation, and dumbstruck-ness.

On Saturday night, I went to Greater Mt. Zion Baptist Church (www.gmzaustin.org) and was deeply moved by the music, the performing arts team, and the beautiful sermon. Pastor Gaylon Clark (@GreaterMtZion) talked about being “ambushed by grace.” He shared how on the criminal’s worst day, he’d be ambushed by grace–ending up right next to the Savior. While the criminal was paying for his crime, Jesus was paying for his soul.

On my worst day, do I look next to me and see my Lord there, ready to assure me of Paradise? Do I look up and stop bemoaning my circumstances and instead pray simply, “Remember me when You enter your kingdom”?

Let me recognize how very close You are, Lord. In Your most hellish moments, You took the time to not only forgive those who crucified You (Luke 23:34) but to show compassion and forgiveness for a single man who only hours before was reviling and cursing you (Matthew 27:44, Luke 23:43).

As I drove home from church, I listened to The Great Divide, by Scott Stapp. Again, I was “seized by astonishment” (Luke 5:26) meditating on Your grace. In the words of the song:

I have run to the ocean
Through the horizon
Chased the sun
I’ve waited for the light to come,
And at times I would give up
You have
Wrapped your loving arms ’round me,
And with your love I’ll overcome.
You have
Loved me when I was weak,
You have
Given unselfishly,
Kept me from falling…falling
Everywhere but my knees!

At 52, it’s very likely I have more days behind me than ahead of me, Father. Let me continue to be dumbstruck in Your presence, ambushed by Your grace. No matter how difficult the day, let me remember to look next to me to see You there, loving and forgiving me, giving me the strength to carry on. Don’t let me fall, Lord…except to my knees.

Writer(s): Scott A. Stapp, Scott Stapp
Copyright: Jaggermichael Publishing, BMG Rights Management (Ireland) Ltd., Chrysalis One Music Publishing Group Ireland

Leave a Reply

