Pride…in the best sense

Two wonderful things happened this week. On Saturday, I graduated with my MBA. I maintained a 4.0 GPA for two whole years, while keeping up a full time job, an almost full time job running our martial arts studio, and raising a family. I felt pride at my accomplishment–and very grateful to both God and my family for their love, support, encouragement. I know that every ability, every resource, and every opportunity I have comes from my Father in Heaven, and I am so thankful for His blessings.

The second wonderful thing happened today. Again, I felt pride…only this time, it filled my heart, my chest, my body near to bursting. My oldest son launched a Kickstarter campaign for his new business, New Vintage Drums.

I confess, this is a shameless mommy plug.

James is a gifted kid–creative, brilliant, handsome, and loving. Watching him pour his heart and time into this venture has been a beautiful experience, and when he lost everything in the Halloween flood, it broke my heart. We were on the phone when he got the news that his workshop was under water, that his drums were floating at the top of the stairs. He was quiet…I cried.

But this young man is resilient and determined, and he’s launched a Kickstarter campaign to finance his dream. Seeing the launch of his video today kept me smiling–no, beaming–all day long. I watched it several times, and it never failed to give me that squishy, oh-so-proud mama feeling every single time.

I know that is how God feels when He looks at us. He gets that deep swelling in His heart, a rush of joy we cannot comprehend this side of Heaven. It’s a godly pride, a feeling that is pure and good and holy. I caught the tiniest glimmer of it today, a gift from God that allowed me not only to revel in my son’s accomplishment, but to bless God for His work in James’ life and my own.

It’s been a great week.

2 thoughts on “Pride…in the best sense

Leave a Reply

